Tags

, , , , , , ,

Over the last month, I’ve made 18 batches of soap.  Although you’re supposed wait a full 30 days after making the soap before using, I’ve tried a great many of them first as hand soaps and then in the shower and really enjoyed them.  My Dad has often said “Don’t show me your stretch marks… Show me your baby!”  So, here they are, my “babies”

This is a Castille soap, meaning it is mostly olive oil.  In this case, I’ve added coconut oil for hardness and black tea for a mild exfoliant.  I used Moroccan Mint for a fragrance oil.  Castille can take several months to fully cure.

Image

This rustic looking soap is made with beer, shea butter, olive oil, coconut oil and palm oil with silk protein.  It is fragranced with Lime Ginger fragrance and has a wonderful lather from the beer.

Image

Every soap is a learning experience, the next one started as a disaster when my green colorant went wild on a solid batch of Lime Ginger.  So, I cut it up to use for embeds and a few days later incorporated it into a Pineapple Cilantro fragranced soap.  Both are made with coconut milk in the lye mixture.  This has actually turned out to be one of my favorite soaps so far with a super creamy and conditioning lather.

Image

I’ve been wanting to do a Tiger Stripe soap but am finding it difficult since I like to work with milks, beer, tea, etc.  Using these liquids in place of water makes it difficult to control both color and the thickness of the batter to do a thin pour.  This soap is my first attempt at a layered swirl.  I used beer in this soap with black oxide and titanium dioxide for colorants.

Image

