Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I’ve really neglected my blog over the last month. I’m not sure how many other people actually read this stuff, but it makes a great diary for me to refer back to on my work. So, let’s bring this saga up to date!

Great Soap Shop *Desire* Drop Swirl

Over the last month, I’ve been experimenting with some soaping techniques that are new to me. This soap is Desire, a masculine / unisex fragrance that is molded in a silicone buche mold which I found on a bakery site. This is really a fun technique that I’ll be doing more often.

Over the last month, I’ve been experimenting with some soaping techniques that are new to me. This soap is Desire, a masculine / unisex fragrance that is molded in a silicone buche mold which I found on a bakery site. This is really a fun technique that I’ll be doing more often.

Arabian Spice

Arabian Spice is another great unisex scent… spicy as the name describes but with an underlying sweetness. This soap is made with a wavy soap divider that my husband made for me. I haven’t found any vendors that offer these dividers. We are working very hard to source materials to make these available to fellow soapers. There will definitely be more of this design in my future.

Blackberry Sage

Recently I received a soap from a lady in Germany which used small tapioca pearls for a mild exfoliant. I LOVED it. Since I was running out of her soap, I figured I better make some of my own. In Blackberry Sage, I’ve dyed the tapioca pearls purple and green to add a little punch to this design.

I’ve made two versions of Clean Cut. This is a Brambleberry fragrance called “Haircut and a Shave.” I thought the name was a bit bulky so changed it to Clean Cut. The first Clean Cut is my variation of a straw technique. With this technique, cores of color are removed from the soap and then filled in with brightly colored melt and pour. I’ve modified the technique a bit to make it easier but the end result is the same.

Clean Cut

The second Clean Cut uses indigo powder for natural colorant and blueberry seeds for mild exfoliation. I’m just in love with the wavy design.

Clean Cut2

Holiday Lights is another polka dot soap (a.k.a. straw technique). This is a two day process that I’m still working to improve.

Holiday Lights

Lavender Anise uses 12 colors swirled in a tray mold. This is a technique that I found in Anne-Marie Faiola’s new book, Soap Crafting. It’s an awesome book, rich with pictures. As far as the soap goes, I have to say that I don’t like Lavender at all, but customers request it, so I’m making it. The anise essential oil pairs nicely with Lavender.

Lavender Anise

I’m looking to popular culture for inspiration for some of my colors. In this Mardi Gras soap, I used the traditional gold, green, purple with accents of black and white. This was another drop swirl… I think I’m getting the hang of it!

mardi gras

